“If it isn’t on Google, it doesn’t Exist.”

Quote by Jimmy Whales

Throughout middle school, I and my classmates loved Googling ourselves to pass the time. Since we were so young, not many links or pictures that we found were actually about us, but we would see what other random things would turn up. Since, middle school, I haven’t spent much time doing this, so I was excited to see what has been added about myself to Google throughout the years.

To begin this task, I simply typed “Timmi Keisel” into Google. The first link that popped up took me to the Chadron State 2016 volleyball roster. Here I saw a few pictures from the season as well as some of my stats. The next link took me to my Facebook page. Although I check it more than I’m proud of, I don’t post much. My pages consists almost entirely of posts and pictures I am tagged in (by my mom mostly). The next couple websites were MaxPreps (showing my high school volleyball and basketball stats), an article about my signing to play volleyball at Chadron State College, and some of my social media sites (both Twitter accounts and my Instagram account). Over the past eight weeks, I have been the most active on the Twitter account for this class, and I haven’t even looked at my other account for a few months. I occasionally post (always appropriate) pictures on Instagram as well. Adding my middle name to the search uncovered newspaper articles about my high school graduation as well as a few family members’ obituaries who shared my middle name (Anne). I also explored my name in Google Images, and nothing too shocking appeared. I found countless pictures from high school sports, a few from FBLA, one picture of me as homecoming queen, and a few pictures relating to Chadron volleyball. I found some pictures of my sister playing sports as well as some other family members too.

From just a quick search, possible employers will learn that I was very active in extracurricular activities, especially athletics, in high school and that I play collegiate volleyball. I haven’t ever had a huge presence on social media, so my different accounts shouldn’t hinder my employment process.

Because technology has been integrated into most of society’s daily lives, it is critical for people to be conscious of their online presence. This may be even more critical in education. I have heard many teachers debate over whether or not they should be friends with or follow their students on social media. Some of my old teachers don’t mind being friends with their students to be updated on extracurricular events they participate in while others think it is inappropriate until their students graduate. Either way, teachers have a great responsibility in their online identity because they are looked up to as role models. If a teacher is posting rude or inappropriate things online, how can different behavior be expected of students?

 

I have included some of the Google images that came up if anyone is curious!

Journal Advocate1

Photo By: Journal Advocate

Chadron State College Athletics

Photo By: Chadron State College Athletics

Journal Advocate

Photo By: Journal Advocate

South Platte Sentinel

Photo By: South Platte Sentinel

6 Comments

  1. Timmi,
    I love the title of your blog post! I feel as if this is something that I have definitely heard before, and sometimes think is true. I also sometimes think if you can’t find it on the first page then it doesn’t exist either! I was also like you; I hadn’t Googled myself in many years, so I was interested to see what would come up for me. It seems that you are extremely active in extracurricular activities which obviously shows up when you search. I think that’s awesome that you’ve built such a positive online presence through extracurricular activities!
    Hillary

    Like

Leave a Reply

