How Learning to be a Teacher has Taught me to be a Student

Although I have always received exceptional grades from the time I started school, I have immensely changed as a student since the time my schooling began. Throughout my experiences from elementary to college, I have gained an enjoyment and a passion for my area of study and for learning as well.

Ever since I was in elementary, I knew that I wanted to be a teacher; however, at first, it was only because my mother is also a teacher. Every day before classes started, my sister and I would “play school” in my mom’s classroom. I would make her sit at a desk while I taught her a variety of subjects. Although at the time I forced her to do this activity with me mostly out of boredom, it was my first teaching experience, and I absolutely loved it.

In high school, I was involved in an extracurricular activity named Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) where students competed in business-related events at a district, state, and national level. I competed in E-Business where teams must present a website they created to a panel of judges. Although this experience didn’t progress my love of literature, it did increase my excitement for being a teacher. I was previously terrified of presenting in front of any group of people, let alone in a competitive environment. After participating in this event at the district, state, and national level, I began to see public speaking as a challenge that excited me rather than terrified me.

I believe being heavily involved in athletics has also affected me as a learner. Before I enjoyed being a student, I enjoyed challenging myself through sports. Throughout high school, school came much easier to me than sports did, and I loved constantly seeing progress on the court.

I have enjoyed reading since I could pick up a book, and I can remember secretly staying up past my bedtime to read about Junie B. Jones in Barbara Park’s children’s books. I had always sped through books and appreciated being entertained by them; however, my junior year of high school, I had a completely different experience. At the beginning of the semester, we read The Scarlet Letter, and it challenged me more than any other book had before. At first, I hated the book just because it was difficult for me to understand. After taking more time to comprehend the novel, I developed an appreciation for the language style as well as began enjoying the challenge.

Taking college literature classes has challenged me even more. Although I am only a sophomore and have only taken a handful of courses, they have tested my abilities as a reader as well my outlook on the world. I have learned about different types of people throughout history and their experiences, and I think doing this has made me a more well-rounded student and person.

alli-and-me

The piano was one of many things I forced my sister to learn throughout our childhood.

digital-collections-at-the-university-of-maryland

Photo CC- By Digital Collections at the University of Maryland

fbla-picture

My group placed third in E-Business at the national FBLA competition.

jimmy-emerson

Photo CC- By Jimmy Emerson

volleyball

My volleyball team won the district tournament my senior year of high school.

9 Comments

  1. Hi Timmi!
    First of all, I really love the way your blog site is set up. It looks great! I enjoyed reading your post and found some similarities to my own learning journey in it. My mom is also a teacher, and like you, I spent many early mornings and nights after school playing in the classroom with my siblings. I only decided that I wanted to be a teacher towards the end of high school, but I think in the back of my mind I knew that was what I always wanted to do:). Junie B. Jones books were some of my absolute favorites growing up, so I can definitely relate to your experience there! I agree that participating in sports growing up had a large impact on the way that I developed as a learner. There are so many skills learned through extracurricular activities that can transfer to our lives as students and future teachers!

    Like

    • Hey Ashlyn,
      Thank you so much for the positive feedback! I definitely think those who have parents in education have a unique experience that others don’t. We get to observe the art of teaching from a very young age. I also agree that extracurricular activities have a huge impact on students. In high school I learned a lot in classes,
      but my personality and identity was shaped around extracurricular activities.

      Like

  2. I really like how you set up your blog site! I also really enjoyed reading your blog. I also loved reading Junie B. Jones when I was younger and never wanted to go to bed either because I would be too into the book! I had some of the same experiences as you in high school with extracurricular activities. I found that those are what shaped my personality more than the classroom because I felt more comfortable being myself there. I think it is very important for students to find a way to be able to be themselves whether it be participating in sports or painting a picture or even blogging. I think it is very important in our lives to be able to find ourselves and I’m glad you were able to do that through extracurricular activities!

    Like

  3. Awesome post! You sounded like a very busy high school student! One thing I wish I learned more of in high school was technology, college truly is dependent on it (as I’m saying this on an online class). And how cute and memorable that you used to play “school” with your mom!

    Like

  4. Sorry this is so late, but I wanted to make a belated comment. 🙂 Being the child of an educator can definitely impact how we see education. I’m glad to hear that you were inspired from a young age! Oh my, remembering that one special book that really challenged us and pushed us beyond what we’d experienced previously… that’s pretty major for many of us. And WOW, I have not thought of Future Business Leaders of America in quite some time. I was president of our large high school group back in the day. lol You’ve shared a nice variety of experiences, here — people, sports, books, organizations, they’re all pieces to the puzzle. Thanks for sharing it all! Have a great rest of your week!

    Like

    • In my experience, having a parent in education always has some sort of effect on students. It seems that people have a tendency either to love the profession and follow in their parent’s footsteps or swear they will never teach. My experience was obviously a good one, and I can’t wait to have a classroom of my own.
      FBLA was one of the major extracurricular activities at my high school, and I think it was because everyone loved our business teacher/chapter adviser. For such a small school, we had a lot of people go to the state and national competitions every year. I didn’t realize it at the time, but it’s really cool to recognize the huge impact she had. Thanks for the comment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

